The Letter (Day 5)

Writing Challenge Day 5:

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. 

 

 Fiction is how I roll: Remember the lady in the train from day 2? Well… she is back!

 

vintage-envelope-2-1373729-m

 

 

From the train station I hurriedly make my way to her apartment. Only weeks ago I’d come over for tea or just simply talk over Grey’s anatomy. Only a week ago, things were normal. It can take a week for things to drastically change.
Something caught my eye. It was letter tucked under the door partially peeping outside the house. An off white colour envelope. A colour well too familiar, enveloping nothing but rejection, written in the most sugar coated but cold manner. Rejections are the worst but, we’ve grown immune to it, it’s a part of life after all. But this letter looked different. It could be good news for Mia. Who knows? Maybe the best news we’ll hear all week since….the accident. I was optimistic.

I opened the letter. Probably, past the hundredth time. I scanned trough all the jabber, getting to the point. There were a lot of positive words in there, vibrant happy words. Her work was accepted! This was her dream, there is so much for her to look forward to! I need to help her pull through. I pray she does. There’s so much ahead.
I make my way to the hospital optimistic.

4 thoughts on “The Letter (Day 5)

comment your heart out.

