The Ogi Battle (Day 10)

Writing Challenge Day 10: Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

 

From the living room, I could be able to smell the aromas from the kitchen. My Mom would make Moi moi– a delicious dish made of black-eye peas, mixed with spices, covered and then boiled. It was my favorite and still is.

I remember  my  Mom wouldn’t let me skip straight to the moi moi without finishing up my bowl of ogi– a white colored lemon porridge (the “real” ogi isn’t white color and doesn’t have lemon and is made of millets or maize) anyway I utterly detested it, and still do. My mom says the “real” ogi is “delicious” and I’m totally missing out. Funny thing is I tasted it and I didn’t like it any better than the lemon one haha.

It is usual thing to exchange dishes with the neighbors during Ramadan

Consequently, the table would get spiced up with a splash of cuisines from here and there. We’d have samosas to lugaiymat and other Kuwaiti halawa. All those yummy stuff would decorate the table but, my mom still wouldn’t let me have a bite until I was done with my ogi. I would admire the way my siblings would gulp it all in. Such pros. My ogi would turn cold and icky *sigh* still no moi moi for me.

 

Lugaimat

Lugaimat

 

One day I came up with the most brilliant idea of dumping half my share of ogi (or more) into my Dads bowl, he never noticed. Genius!

http://africanbites.com/?p=6294

Ogi

When I would finally finish up my ogi, I would take my piece of moi moi with open arms. I was never allowed to pick first because of the illogical rule of age-wise supremacy -.- This rule is widely used in my household and the one who bears the brunt here is me the last on the age list… in other words I would occasionally be left with the deformed looking moimoi piece. I still hate this rule.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moin_moin

Moi Moi (I know, its not the most appealing but I assure you it is just delish!)

 

Perhaps it’s a way to show us how in life, sometimes you don’t get what you want even if its right in front of you… I don’t know if that’s even true. Is there any other way of looking at this? One of my siblings once suggested I create a support group for ‘younger siblings’. Haha. Whatever be the case, I’m happy as long as I get my moi moi piece.

Another food that I will always cherish close to my heart and eat with utmost pleasure and relish each minute of the process of the consumption (beside chocolate of-course) is fried plantain. The best fried piece of food I’ve ever tasted. If this isn’t celebration then I don’t know what is.

 

http://www.jaguda.com/2013/06/28/top-5-must-have-foods-for-a-naija-parry/

fried plantain

 

And yes, the ogi battle still continues till this day. Is it just me or is this post making you hungry too?

comment your heart out.

