Amazing Amy (Day 14)

 

crown_121412_gonegirl_banner

Writing Challenge Day 14: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration.

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

 

Well, this one is interesting!

So, I have two choices here, my math notebook filled with calculus and sad moping number stuff or, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Yup, I’m definitely going for Gone Girl…

 

I’m still at the beginning of the book. I’ve not been in the reading mood lately I don’t know why…but anywho, the word or words rather that popped out on page 29 was ‘Amazing Amy’. *I’m trying my best to avoid any spoilers*

You might have to read the first 30 pages of the book or you might be confused.

 

Dear Amazing Amy,

Hello, in case you don’t know who I am then well, I’m the original, the Amy that doesn’t have the “Amazing” prefix. I’m that less romanticized version of you, the twin sister my parents would have dreamt to have. My parents would tell me not to take the books personally, they would tell me not to read too much into your character, joke. The reality is you are what they want me to be, this perfect, hardworking embellished version of me, an ‘amazing Amy’.

You, however now are a work of their public passive aggressiveness towards me, because I’m not that ‘amazing’ as they wanted me to be.

The new book is out “Amazing Amy is getting married”.  Well, congratulations on book 20 and send my greetings to ‘Abel Andy’ pssht… Abel Andy, seriously what kind of name is that? Hold on I’m talking to the girl named ‘Amazing Amy’ so that shouldn’t be surprising….

I will never be you and I’ll never want to be you, because quite frankly the world needs a good population of people who are less ‘amazing’.

Yours truly,

Amy Elliott.

2 thoughts on “Amazing Amy (Day 14)

comment your heart out.

